Simplicity by Choice

Off-Grid Living & Self-Reliance

Spring Menu Changes March 7, 2013

Filed under: cooking,family,pantry building,simplicity — ourprairiehome @ 1:40 am
Tags: , , , , ,

I love the spring season. After a cold winter, it is so refreshing to have the warmer days. It also brings about changes in our diet. Throughout the winter we eat a lot of soups and stews. These not only are comfort foods but really seem to fit the season. As spring approaches however, I am planning out meals that are lighter. These meals will be a blessing come the hot days of summer!

We are also making a major dietary change for a month or so. Our autistic son is showing signs of having a sensitivity to gluten. Quite simply, everytime he eats foods containing gluten, he has gas issues that are far beyond the normal range. He gets cranky sometimes, especially if he has too many foods containing gluten in one day. Since there is no real test for sensitivity (other than the test for Celiac which is a much more severe reaction to gluten) I am taking the old fashioned approach. We will go without gluten for a month and see if anything changes. If his gas problems are solved, then I will gently start introducing gluten into his diet again. If the gas problems start back up, we know he is sensitive to it and will eliminate it from his diet.

Luckily, I have a lot of vegetarian & vegan recipes to choose from. I also have 2 books on gluten-free cooking. These are the resources I am using to revamp my family’s diet. It is taking me some time to put together a month’s worth of weekly menus, but will be posting them as soon as I am able. I will then give more detail on how to shop in bulk for the month. I had a wonderful response to the previous blog post about my monthly grocery shopping. I am hoping that the upcoming menu will help to explain it even more.

 

One Response to “Spring Menu Changes”

  1. maplecreekcottage Says:

    This sounds like it’s going to be awesome (and super challenging, and potentially lifechanging)!
    Let us know how it goes! My sister in law is struggling with this challenge for her teenage son with Asberger’s. Her husband is not really on board…maybe a success story would help!
    Can’t wait to hear some of those recipes.


Leave a Reply

